Inger-devries.reismee.nl

Photo's Uganda - week 2

It is already two months ago I started my Uganda adventure. I still miss it every day.
I miss my American family, Ugandan friends and the girls&staff at Wakisa! So with a lot of joy I will share the pictures I made at week 2.


Every day I started my week at the top of the hill in Mengo. This was my vieuw from the Boda! Unfortunatly I didn't make pictures when the sky was clear because then it was even more beautiful. As you can see, Kampala is just a normal city and not one big "African" mess what a lot of people seem to think.

The week started with Agri-culture lessons. It is unbelievebly hard the work on the land like this. The ground is so though and you need to have a lot of strenged to do it by hand. Some of this girls are about to give labour and still they work like this! The only work for 1,5 hour a day because otherwise it is to dangerous for the baby.

After agri-culture I was allowed to give a lesson. We did a fun singing lessons where i tested the girls capacities to be a leader. Some girls were laughing at eachother but Steph and I helped them trough! So many girls have beautiful girls of starting there own schools or medical facilities. The whole Ugandan culture is raising them to be silent and obediant. I tried to teach the girls to speak for themselves because that is what leaders, even there, need to do.

After the singing we made jewelry with the beautiful beatings you donated! Thank you!!!

Firday me and some other girls left for Safari. I was so excited!!!!! My first real Safari. The first stop was at a Rhino park. All the Rhino's here were imported from Kenia because the Ugandan rhino's were killed during the war. It was so special to be able to stand so close to this enormous creatures. I mean, they acan be very dangerous.

The second stop was at the place were we would stay for the night. It was a very deserted place beside the road to Murchison nation park. We slept in traditional houses, you can see them on the photo above. It was very cosy!

this picture I made during sun down. It is my favourite picture, I love the orangeness of the sun. The primitive cabins were you can live a good life!

On the way to the park we saw a lot of Baboons. They are very naughty and we had to be carefull. Though it was amazing to see them! They live in very big families ....

The vieuw we saw before we crossed the nile to go on a game drive.

The land was inbelievebly green. Greener then you can see on the picture. It was so beautiful! And we saw so many animals, like you can see below:

The gamedrive only took 3 hours but there was literally no way you couldn't see any animals. There were animals EVERYWHERE!

After lunch we went for a boattrip on the Nile. We saw so many hippo's and crocodiles:

It felt like freedom to see all this beautiful animals in there natural habitat. Never a zoo for me again!

After an hour we finally saw the Murchison fall(s)!

To follow a road on the side you could climb to to top of the waterfall. As you can see on the right you go a lot higher then te top which is amazing!

We had a beautiful intense day with somany things to see. I was really tired but I didn't slept that much that night because there were hippo's beside or cabin. There were no windows only some muscito gaze. So i literally saw them 1 M away from me. The sound they make when they are eating grass is unbelievlebly loud!

The next day I wasn't tired at all because we went to the rain forest for the Chimp trekking. The warned us because chimps are moving around a lot so it was a real possibility we wouldn't be able to see them.
The sounds in the rainforerst are unbelievebly beautifull. We heard so many things. I love the sound of chimps who are calling for eachother by using the threes as a drumm.

Before we knew it, there was a chimp right in front of us.

I catched it on film as well:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBw3ztGtTxA

We went further and there we found a big chimp family !

It was so beautifu to see how this family live. I mean, they are so close related to humans. They do a lot of similair things. And did you know that chimps make wapons now? They do it since 5 till 10 years. That means they are evolving! They just 10000 years behind us..... Who knows what that promise for the future? I hope human will never feel threated by this beautiful creatures so we let them live and maiby in 10.000 years we can live together peacefully!

There were a lot of other creatures in the jungle as well.... I didn't like them that much.

SEE YA NEXT WEEK

Reacties

Reacties

oma jetty

Geweldig, je lijkt wel een echt rimboemeisje!!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Doingoood