Inger-devries.reismee.nl

Photo blog Uganda - Week 5

Finally -3 months after I came home my last photo blog. The last pictures, the last memories & the beginning of new dreams!

This week I said my goodbeys at Wakisa Ministries. It was so hard to tell this girls and the staff goodbey. I know most of the girls go back to the slumps and will not have the future they are dreaming of. And they don't have big dreams like becoming a superstar or a millionare. No, they want to become a nurse or teacher. They are so modest, I really learned from that!

Thanks to your gifts I was able to arrange this goodbey activity. All the girls get some baby clothing and textile markers so they could make their own style out of it. They all wanted me to write something down for them.

It was so much fun. Everyday at 11.00 it was tea time and I brought some cake with me, because after the cake it was time for final goodbeys.

Last pictures, last hugs and last beautiful words.
Thank god for the helmet I wear on the Boda Boda because I couldn't stop crying walking out of the gate.

Luckely I was going on my last trip with Stephanie and Brian. Brian invited us to his family house at lake Bunyonyi. I really wanted to visit lake bunyonyi so I couldn't wait!
It was so much of an adventure to get there. We went with the local bus, which was fine because it was a night bus. But when we arrived it was freezing cold and in the middle of the night. Finally we found to Boda drivers who wanted to bring us.... but you couldn't see a thing and we were driving on narrow mountain roads without helmets (I didn't know I had to bring mine). So I was so scared! We stopped by a lake we had to cross with a canoe. Unfortunatly we couldn't go in the middle of the night so we had to wait till morning. When we arrived on his island we had to climb the hill because he was living on top of it. The vieuw was stunning!!

We went sleeping... and after that we climb down again and went canoeing and swimming. Next day we relaxed a little bit. In the evenings we sat by a campfire and helped with cooking. We visit Brians grandmother. They were so generous en hospital while they don't have much! I truly love them. There was no electricity or streaming water, but they had all we need!

Last night Steph decided to sleep outside in her hangmat. We enjoyed watching the stars in the evening.

On the way down I decided to enjoy this vieuw on more time. Brian offered that piece of ground to me and Steph to start our own project. Who knows what the future holds!!!

And then it was time... my last night in Kampale. The girls from the volunteer house and me went to dinner together. It was so much fun to spend my last night with them! I spent so much time with the Americans en Ugandees friends but it was nice to spent some time with my Dutchies as well!

Because I flew in the evening I was able to spent my last days with buying some souveniers at the craft market and spent some time with my American friends. We had an amazing Picknick with games, sandwiches and cake!

3 leg race

Playtime with the kids!

Egg & Spoon race

Family picture, because they truly become my family in Uganda!

And then one last time running trough the water!

Time for actual goodbeys and knowing we were going to be seperated with miles distance between us. I had a hard time not crying but I didn't wanted to upset te kids. But I loved them all and it was hard. But I am so thankfull I met this people. They learned me so much about life and faith. And yhea, there is skype so I can still talk to them and planning to come back!

I gave little Ava this flower because I don't know why, but we had a special bond. And she didn't like me leaving at all. Everytime we are skyping she is dragging all the attention to herself, so funny. I love her!

It was time for my last ride on a Boda Boda. I was so scared the first week but now I miss them. A boda boda is much more practical then public transport. No delays hihi. Okay.... they are not good for nature and busyness on the road.

At home I took a long shower, packed my last stuff and then Charlie was already there to pick me up. Tears in my eyes (again) !
Because I really didn't want to leave. But I promised to come back and I will!

Thank you for everything Uganda !

Reacties

Reacties

oma Jetty

op naar het volgende!!!!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Doingoood